Financial Institutions

Notice —

Transfer to federal financial institutions regulatory framework


On 1 July 2016, the Caisse populaire acadienne ltée, operating under the trade name of Uni Coopération Financière, became a federal credit union (coopérative de crédit fédérale) regulated under the Bank Act.


Federal credit unions and coopératives de crédit fédérales are regulated by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI). Therefore, on 1 July 2016, the regulatory oversight of Uni Coopération Financière transferred from the Financial and Consumer Services Commission to OSFI.


More information on the oversight of federal financial institutions can be obtained on the following website:


The Financial Institutions Division oversees the financial stability and solvency of credit unions for the protection of depositors and provides corporate registry services for credit unions. It also oversees the financial stability and solvency of provincially incorporated loan and trust companies as well as regulating the licensing of extra-provincial loan and trust companies in the province. In addition, the Financial Institutions Division is responsible for the regulation and the incorporation of co-operatives in the province.

2017 © Financial and Consumer Services Commission